Top Five Wednesday: Book Covers I’d Live in

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 12.29.00 AM

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Goodreads by the lovely Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. I looove doing post on covers, both because I love design (not that I’m good at it) and because I get to talk about books I might not mention often. This topic is just ambiguous enough that I spent a good while trying to come up with the books.

5. A Separate Peace by John Knowles

5148

I haaaaaated this book. If you asked me what books have left me feeling the angriest and most disappointed ever, this book would be in the top 5 easily. But I do love that cover. It captures the New England boarding school so well. It makes me want to be there.

4. The Magicians by Lev Grossman

6101718

I love the other-worldly feel this cover has. It’s both ominous and aesthetically pleasing. I also liked how realistic it is. Though I certainly wouldn’t want to live in the world of The Magicians, I could see myself wandering through that field.

3. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

17838528

Dogs! Ice cream! Summery! Who wouldn’t want to be transported there?*

2. Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

25526296

Just like The Magicians’, I love the fantastical-yet-realistic style of this cover. Portals are just the best!

1. The Latin American A Song of Ice and Fire covers

portadas-paises-juego-tronos-cancion-hielo-fu-L-keSrCV

Yes this one gets to be bigger because just look at it! The illustrations of these editions are just gorgeous. Despite having read ASoIaF in English, I’ve been tempted to buy them just so I can contemplate them, put them on an altar and get lost watching them for hours. What makes these covers all the more amazing is how ugly the originals are. Like compare a helmet on a green background with these:

download.jpeg

They are so immersive and accurate to the books that no cover can compare. I kind of remember GRRM saying that the AGoT cover is the most accurate to how he imagined the Iron Throne. Even the show’s version pales in comparison.


*If your answer is “not me”, I don’t know what to do with you.**
**Okay if you’re lactose intolerant or allergic to dogs, I forgive you.
3 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Book Covers I’d Live in

Leave a Reply

