Sunshine Blogger Award

First of all thanks to JenAcideByBibliophile for nominating me to the Sunshine Blogger Award ❤ Here is her original post!

sunshine-award.jpg

Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  3. Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write then 11 new questions.
  4. List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

 

1. Dogs or Cats or Hamsters and Why?

I’m a total dog person without a doubt. I grew up with dogs, and I still own dogs. They’re the best. Also I might add that though I like big dog, small dogs are the greatest. They’re so cute and huggable and happy. Here have a pic of one of my five dogs (yes, five):IMG_0102

2. If you could live in any period and any place in time when and where would it be?

Mmm I always think that it’s so easy to idealize previous periods in history and forget all the racism, sexism, bigotry and colonialism… and lack of antibiotics. Yeah, I’m pretty happy with the 21st Century (except with the last year or so because why are you acting like this world?). So bear in mind, I’m answering this more on aesthetic terms. It might be cliche but I love the end of the 19th Century when it comes to literature and the whole Victorian aesthetic.

3. What is the last book you hated and why?

I rarely hate on books? Mostly it’s just disappointment and resentment. I tend to pick up books that I think I’ll enjoy, so it’s more about my expectations getting dashed by wasted potential or weak writing. But I also have a ton of required reading for college so…
19328-004-CCAF63DD.jpg
The Faerie Queene by Edmund Spenser is probably the worst reading experience I’ve had in the whole year. And I had to do a presentation on it. I only read the first book (there are six! and he died before he could finish). I hated the style in all its pseudo-Chaucer vibe and mis-mash of every genre that proceeded it. I get its literary value and what it means for the English canon, but I still fucking hated it.

4. Favorite author and favorite book (not necessarily by the same author)?

My go-to book when people ask for a favorite is always The Secret History by Donna Tartt, though really it varies!
29044

As for my favorite author… probably Victoria Schwab? I’ve read most of her books multiple times and have listened to and watched a ton of her interviews. She seems like such a nice person and I love her writing advice.

5. What is something you wish people knew about you?

That I have the greatest music taste in history?

But really, I would love to talk more about music with the people around me. My friends all have very distinct tastes that rarely overlap with mine or don’t listen to music at all (something I can’t even fathom). I used to know so little about music, but in the last two or three years my tastes have changed a lot and I’ve learned so much. My main genre is still alternative, but I’ve also found great indie or electronic artists. I can talk about music for hours on end!

6. How long have you been blogging?

Roughly a year. I still have never been able to post consistently! For like five month I didn’t post a single thing, but since then I’ve been getting better.

7. What is your favorite type of character in a book?

For female characters, I have two main weaknesses. On the one hand, there’s the traditionally girly character that is not a fighter but still manages to be pretty badass in her own way and is super idealistic. On the other, I adore the fighters that will do almost anything to do reach their goal and are utterly uncompromising. Also a mix of the two is welcome.

For male characters……………… I love broody, introspective guys.  It’s such cliche, but I fall for it. Bonus points if they’re snarky.

8. What is your favorite TV show?

I think I mention it anytime I have an excuse even after six years of having finished it.

Image result for buffy the vampire slayer

I came across this show when I was thirteen and it utterly consumed my life. I was just coming out of my Twilight phase and I started watching this without any expectation. I just knew people loved Sarah Michelle Geller a lot and Lily from How I Met Your Mother was a main character. And by mid season two I knew it was one of my favorite things ever. I used to be able to name every single episode, from memory, and I can still quote without any effort (A bear? You made a bear! Undo it!) Here I am, aged nineteen, and I still can talk about this show for hours (a fact my poor best friend can attest to as I’m making her watch it).

Also my second favorite show of all time is Angel, which I feel a lot of people have not watched even if they loved Buffy. It’s such a shame, because it really becomes into its own very unique thing and I prefer it thematically to Buffy. Also it has my favorite ending of all time.

9. What is your favorite holiday? Why?

I’m not much of a holiday person. I don’t hate Christmas or anything, but I don’t get excited or anything.

I do like New Year’s though.

10. What 3 famous/fictional people, living or dead, would you want at your fantasy dinner party?

Sansa Stark from ASoIaF, Zuzana from Daughter of Smoke & Bone and Luna Lovegood would guarantee a fabulous evening.

11. What’s your pet peeve(s)?

People who end texts with periods. Unless you’re making a point why? I find this all the time in books and movies, but I just don’t get why you would do two extra clicks to add a period. Life is short.

Leave a Reply

