Top Ten Books Read So Far in 2017

This was the topic for last week’s Top Ten Tuesday, but I completely missed it. I’m not linking it up, but I wanted to make this list and flail about the amazing books I’ve read so far this year! Note that these mostly aren’t new releases (I’m terrible at being caught up with those), but simply books that I read for the first time in 2017. I’m sure some of these will end up in my final list, but I can’t wait to see what the second half of 2017 brings!

Also note these are in the order that I read them, not ranked. (Rankings are super hard for me so I’m saving those for my final list.)

849011213007299392301021023593321

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

This was the first book I finished in 2017, and it gripped me from start to finish. I finally understand the hype! Not is Taylor’s writing stunning and unique from the very beginning, but the way the story is constructed is delicious. This book turned her into one of my favorite writers for sure.

Julius Caesar by William Shakespeare

I’m an English major, so I read this for class back in March. Rarely have the books I’m assigned to read had a such a visceral effect on me. I appreciated this play in so many levels, from the beautiful writing (it’s Shakespeare duh) to being utterly invested in the characters, to that feeling you get when you know this is your passion. Best reading experience of the year without a doubt.

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

Reading finales of the series I love is always hard for me. One way or another I end up sobbing because the journey is over, because I’ll miss these cast of characters. Schwab knew just which thread to tie-up to have a satisfying conclusion, one that cost, which are my favorite kind. Even though I’ll miss them, I’m happy with where all these characters ended up.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

The other classic on this list. I read this book very slowly, so I had a chance to fully absorbed the whole atmosphere that Bronte crafts and I wouldn’t have it any other way. It is definitely dated in many ways, but its core themes still resonated with me. I loved Jane, and I loved the way this book is written.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

This year, no book has made me sob like this one. It has such an odd approach to common post-apocalyptic tropes that was just super effective to me. To borrow from my review because I haven’t found a better way to put it, this novel is an achingly human about the end of civilization.

12745588787720821043320756622890090

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

I went into this book pretty sceptical: I hate all-male casts as a rule, I get exasperated with heist plots, and I haven’t read that much adult epic fantasy since ASoIaF. And yet, this book completely blew me out of the water. I was utterly enthralled once the plot really got going (I listened to roughly 20 hours of audio in less than three days instead of doing homework #TotallyWorthIt). Like, here I am almost three months later and I think this is one of my favorite series ever, guys. I certainly did not see that coming.  This book made laugh, cry, and fall in love with these characters. I’m just in awe of how much I loved them, how much I think of them, how many quotes are etched into my mind now. AADFGHJSAKFDAJDK…. I LOVE IT A LOT OKAY.

Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch

Wow, was I bored with the first half of this book, but the second half just made everything click together and again I was enthralled. Though, I do think it strayed from a few of the things that I loved about the first book, Locke and Jean are always enjoyable. These characters, the sense of humor, the world, it’s all just so delightful. Pirates! I adored the pirates! And the friendship! And the cat! And the way Lynch ripped my heart out AGAIN.

The Secret Place by Tana French

Exactly the high quality writing I was expecting from French and so much more. It’s probably her richest novel so far. Her way of writing characters never ceases to surprise me. And come on, stories about teenage friendships are like catnip to me.

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

I loooove loooove every trope that involves overrun cities and seeing them play out with Schwab’s beautiful writing style was just a delight to read. I adore her dark take on YA, where the humans can be just as bad as the monsters, and overall it was better plotted than This Savage Song. Plus, the character development is great.  Here she proves again that she knows how to write and ending with a punch.

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch

Of course I’m going to include all the published book in the Gentleman Bastard series. The obsession is that bad. It has a theatre troupe, guys, and one hell of an epilogue (hahaha there is no release date for the fourth book, I’m going to die). It went back to many of the things I adored from the first book, mainly the flashbacks! Also, yay, a main female character just as morally ambiguous and clever as Locke and Jean, whom I adored of course! I don’t know what I’ll do with myself now that I’m caught up………

 

Leave a Reply

