June Recap

Life things

I’m finally done with my first year of university! Though the start of the month was kind of hectic with exams and final papers (I pulled off writing a ten-page paper in a single day), on the second half I was finally able to relax and focus on all the things I had left aside over the course of the semester. I have no idea what I’m going to make of this summer.

 

Reading

I read nine books this month, and all of them I was genuinely interested in! Having no more assigned reading is such a relief. I also read a few books outside my usual genres and a ton of fantasy, all in all a perfect combination.

*Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare ★★

The Secret Place by Tana French ★★★½

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle ★½☆☆

The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson (No rating)

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers ★★

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling (reread) ★★★¼

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (reread) ★★★¼

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab ★★★¼

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch (audiobook) ★★★½

Favorite(s) of the Month

 

 

Blogging

I think I’ve finally worked out a weekly schedule that works for me. So bear with me in this little bit of blog-keeping. I think I can manage three post a week, being realistic (I would love to post more, but I’ve never managed) and I’m going to work on being consistent. Two weeks, I adhered to this new schedule and it was great; now I have some posts queue’d up for next week so expect that I’ll manage at least one week.

Anyway my tentative schedule is as follows: Tuesday will be a TTT post (for all of June I’ll switch to Top 5 Wednesday on, well, Wednesdays), Thursdays/Fridays will have reviews going up, Sundays/Mondays will be miscellaneous posts like tags, recaps and a couple of other original posts that I’ve been planning.

Now onto the things I posted this month…

Top Ten Books Recently Added to My TBR That Are Outside My Favorite Genres

May Recap

Spring Bookish Bingo Wrap-Up

Top Ten Books That Would Make Great Father’s Day Gifts

Book Review: The Secret Place

Summer Bookish Bingo

Top Ten Series I Haven’t Started Yet

Book Review: The Lies of Locke Lamora

Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

Book Review: The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

 

Writing

I FINISHED MY FOUR-BOOK SERIES!!!! Well, the first drafts anyway. I knew, I just knew, that there would come a point while writing the last act where I would start going fast and just speed through the end. What I didn’t expect was that it would happen in the span of a day. I started writing around 9am and didn’t stop until 7am of the next day. I tried to go to sleep around 2am, but my mind wouldn’t stop racing, so I decided to keep on writing. At 7am, I went to sleep after eating breakfast when I was halfway through the epilogue and woke up around 12 and finished it! So that was 10k words in a day, which for me is a looot. Also I bawled many many times while writing the ending (yes, I’m that kind of person). The entire manuscript ended up being 128,613 words and it took me almost six months to finish (for some reason I also took this long for the first book even though it was 50k shorter). Oh, and I also broke the 500k word mark counting all my finished manuscripts… which is still super surreal for me.

Like, I still can’t believe I stuck with it! It took me eighteen months (though I also wrote a companion last summer), changed the way I read and approach stories, and made me grow so much. It was such a ride of highs and lows.  Ahhhhh I can’t believe it happened! (All this happened on the 16th and 17th for the record).

Now, I’ve been trying to outline my next book that follows one of the POV characters of  my series but is completely different in scope, tone, theme and structure (as this is a mostly a self-contained story). I feel like writing a one-off last year made me grow a lot as a a writer, so I’m hoping that it’s the same for this one (hahaha only not as hard as last time, please). I was hoping to have the outline done for the start of CampNaNo, but that didn’t happen. I have most of the groundwork and the structure down, but I haven’t really started the actual, useable outline. (Also I might just write a post trying to make sense of detailing my outlining process)

After that, I’ve had an idea for my next series (four or five books long I haven’t quite decided) for about a year now and have like 15k words of backstory (and a lot more in my head). I can’t wait to get to them because they are shaping up to be my most ambitious project!

Overall, this was a great (and intense) writing month to say the least.

 

Music

Writing Music

Oblivion by M83 — The song for my third act. It’s so glittery and epic and fits the tone I was going for perfectly.

Carol of the Bells by Tommee Profitt — Another epic song for battles. This one is darker though.

Wait by M83 — Now this song is going to make me burst into tears forever.

Blush by Wolf Alice — So since I first listened to this song I added to a playlist titled “end” because it just made me think of this one moment, a reunion during the epilogue, so I put on repeat on that section.

Sober II (Melodrama) by Lorde — The new Lorde album came out the same night I was on my writing frenzy and this song was just lodged itself in my head while I wrote the final scene. Just so you get a sense, this came out two weeks ago and it already has 73 plays on my computer…

Speak in Tongues by machineheart — This is the kind of song that I just can’t explain beyond that this is it, this is the tone of my current project.

 

Leave a Reply

