Top Ten Series I Haven’t Started Yet

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish! This week’s topic is perfect for a lover of fantasy like me because oh, there’s a never ending list of series I want to get to. I’m worried/glad it will never end, but it’s also so easy to get intimidated by the amount of books in each series. Then there also years of wait for releases and I cry.

As of now, I have a rule for myself. I can only start a new series when I finish or catch up with one I’ve already started. A good rule which I have completely failed to adhere to, but hey let me hope. I’ve also written about all the series I’m hoping to finish this year. But hey, these are the ones I’m hoping will motivate me to get on with those…

436151606903065472582578652329748925

1. The Dark Tower series by Stephen King

Number of books total: 7 (all released)

We read an extract in one of my classes and these sounded so fun! Also there are seven books! That’s a lot…

2. The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

Number of books total: 3 (all released)

So many people loooove this series. I’m kind of afraid because the hype is high, my friends. Please, don’t let them be a disappointment…

3. The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

Number of books total: 3 (all released)

I actually own the first book already. I only haven’t started it because of my rule on starting new series which I’ve broken like five times for other books.

4. Wayfarers series by Becky Chambers

Number of books total: 2 (plus one to be released in 2018)

I was convincing myself starting this one wasn’t so bad because there are only two books out. Then they announced the next one…

5. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Number of books total: 1 (plus one to be released)

Another one I already own because the UK cover is to die for. I still have one book left on Laini Taylor’s other series, so I’m saving this one for the evitable craving I will have for her beautiful writing.

1096418607477288891829655119322

6. Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon

Number of books total: 8 (plus novellas and other books to be released?)

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved the television adaptation (though I haven’t seen season 2 yet). The books seem like so much fun but also so dauntingly huge! The first book alone is 850 pages…

7. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Number of books total: 2 (one to be released at one point in time apparently)

So huuuuuge. Oh God, I have so much left to read.

8. The Diviners series by Libba Bray

Number of books total: 2 (plus one to be released later this year)

I love Bray’s writing and I’ve been meaning to start this since I finished the Gemma Doyle Trilogy. Why haven’t I started them, then? Because there was a five year gap between books one and three. I don’t want to get attached to these characters (and I’m sure I will) only to have to wait for another three years to know what happens. One GRRM in my life is enough.

9. The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

Number of books total: 3 (all released)

She’s such an underrated writer! The humor, the characters, the general adorableness of it all. I want to read all she’s ever written, so these are up next.

10. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

Number of books total: 3 (plus a sequel series to be released)

I tried to read The Golden Compass when I was like ten and was traumatized to find out it was much more violent than the movie. At the first kid death, I was out. It’s a shame because I’ve heard so many good things about this trilogy! I know I could relate a lot to the themes now that I’m Not A Kid™.

Total books released: 34

(kill me now)

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Series I Haven’t Started Yet

    • I’ve heard so many good things about the two books that have come out so far! They’re also supposed to be more on the character-driven side which is why I’ve waited to be on the right mood for them, but you should check them out!

      Like

  1. Great list! I love that you added up the total number of books at the bottom, lol. None of these series made it into my T10T, but a ton of them are actually on my TBR. I also really want to finish the His Dark Materials books, but I doubt I’ll get around to it before the spinoff series starts. Here is my T10T!

    Like

    • Yeah, my rule lasted about a month before I broke it. I have like three trilogies where I only have the final book left, so I’m hoping I can stick to until I finish one at least. And I keep hearing about Brandon Sanderson’s worlds! I can’t wait until I can dive into Mistborn.

      Like

Leave a Reply

