May Recap

My life

May was a busy month for me. I was swarmed by papers, finals, and presentations. I didn’t do much outside of school unfortunately. I can’t wait for this semester to be over.

Reading

I feel like this was a good reading month for me even though I read less books than the months before.

Maybe because some of the books were a bit longer? Or maybe because I read two audiobooks and I like listening to those at the normal speed so each one took over twenty hours of my time.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch (audiobook) ★★★½

The Night Circus by Erin Morgensten ★★★☆

Maus I by Art Spiegelman ★★★☆

Maus II by Art Spiegelman ★★★☆

The Female of the Species by Mindy Mcginnis ★★★☆

*Dr. Faustus by Christopher Marlowe ★★☆☆

*A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams ★★★¼

Red Seas under Red Skies by Scott Lynch (audiobook) ★★★¼

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare ★★½☆

Favorite of the Month

 127455

This book made me think a lot about how I’ve changed as a reader throughout the last few years because of how invested I became. That hadn’t happened in a very long time, even with books I’ve really enjoyed, so it was just such a pleasant surprise! These characters are great! The world is great! The interactions are marvellous! I fell in love with this book.

Blogging

My first blogversary was on May 31st! This is a shame because I was sooo bad at posting this month. I wish I had become more consistent with posting in this past year. So my main goal for this year is to actually manage to post at least two posts a week. Let’s see how long that lasts. I’m also going to be experimenting a bit more with format and tone because as it is it kind of feels like a chore, and I have to write sooo much about books for university that I would like this blog not to feel like an extension of that.

April Recap

Top Ten Typographies on Book Covers

Book Review: The Female of the Species

Writing

Last month‘s prediction about not managing to finish this book in May became true, but I did even worse at writing. My mind keeps drifting to my future projects, so I’ve been having a hard time concentrating. I’ve been writing this book for too long and I just need to get it over with, so I can truly move on to other things instead of being stuck between the two and in a kind of rut.

TV & Movies

Big Little Lies became the first show I’ve actually managed to finish in a while. It is really as good as people are saying! I loved it to pieces, but I’m fine with where it ended. I’m happy without a season two because I know this is a show I will rewatch.

I also started The Handmaid’s Tale and Legion, but they have now joined the long list of shows that I start, watch two episode, love, and proceed to never watch again. It’s like a book slump, only with TV and I hated it. I’m the worst.

I was bit better at watching movies. I watched the A Streetcar Named Desire version with Marlon Brando, which I loved

Music

Sign of the Times by Harry Styles– I’m nineteen, so I grew up with the whole OneDirection craze. Two of my best friends are fans, the other two sneer at those who were obsessed. Though because of the former, I know the lyrics to a couple of their song, I never liked. Not once did I think of streaming a song of theirs. This is why Harry Styles’ album was such a surprise.

Doing It to Death by The Kills– I listened to the whole album while reading Clockwork Angel and this is my favorite out of them all.

 

Writing Music

Whatever It Takes by Imagine Dragons– The perfect song for one particular character, This is practically the theme song to my next project.

An End Has a Start by Editors— A perfect song for the end of the second act. I still don’t believe that the end is near.

Oblivion by M83– Ethereal and melancholic, this is just perfect for the ending of my novel

 

 

Leave a Reply

