Top Ten Books Recently Added to My TBR That Are Outside My Favorite Genres

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is all about our TBRs! If you look at my blog, you can easily see that my favorite genres are fantasy and YA fiction (if one can call that a genre). That said, I’ve looking to expand my reading habits and added a ton different genres to my TBR, from children’s literature to non-fiction. Some of this genres I’ve enjoyed in the past, some I’ve never read, but I’m excited about all these.

20893527529625733983959139840440

1. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery –All the discussion regarding the Netflix adaptation has me intrigued. People seem to have a lot of love for this book, and the setting is unlike most of the things I read.

2. An Ideal Husband by Oscar Wilde –I’ve read The Importance of Being Earnest three times at different points for school and university, and I really enjoyed Wilde’s writing, more so than in his novel. I watched the 1999 movie recently and have wanted to read the original play ever since.

3. Lab Girl by Hope Jahren –I follow Victoria Schwab on Twitter and there she constantly raves about this book. I’m hoping that this will the non-fiction book that I’ll fall head over heels in love with and be left craving for more.

4. The Girl Who Circumnavigated the World in a Ship of her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente –I’ve been dying to read a book by Valente after hearing so many good things about her writing. This middle grade book sounds delightful.

5. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield –A mystery-gothic novel that I’ve heard is super intriguing and has great twists!

2383671125031753448243429283884

6. The Sleepwalkers by Hermann Broch — My dad gave me this book for my birthday and called it one of his favorites. Although it seems denser than what I normally read, I want to give it a try.

7. Hard Times by Charles Dickens —A Tale of Two Cities is one of my favorite classics and my best friend gave me this book for my birthday (I have a reputation). It’s the perfect excuse to read some more Dickens and thankfully it’s not as long as some of his other novels.

8. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller –I’ve heard some mix… opinions about this book, but I still want to try it for myself, especially after reading The Iliad, which I loved, last semester.

9. Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta –I normally don’t read YA Contemporary, but people seem to love  Marchetta’s writing. Like really, really love, very, very passionately. I can’t wait to see why.

10. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee –The only book on this list that hasn’t been release, and the hype is high in this one. It had me at bisexual protagonist in a historical setting but everything else sounds so fun.

One thought on “Top Ten Books Recently Added to My TBR That Are Outside My Favorite Genres

Leave a Reply

