April Recap

My Life

This month I (mostly) got back on track after the hell of last month. Spring break, even though I only get a week now, really helped clear my head. Also I did end up going to a ton of small parties with most of my high school friends. I wish I’d seen my best friends a bit more, but we did manage to stay in touch throughout the month. I also decided to do CampNaNo on a whim!

Reading

I’m back, baby! I had no problem reading this month. I enjoyed most of what I read both for class and for myself. Though I utterly failed at TomeTopple and did not follow that TBR at all… I read 8 books in total (three plays, five novels). And I started the month by finally finishing Jane Eyre(!), which I loved despite its taking me almost three months to read. I also picked up The Night Circus and The Lies of Locke Lamora both of which I’m really enjoying. * indicates required readings.

Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor ★★★½

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte  ★★★½

Station Eleven by Emily St. Mendel ★★★½

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson ★★☆☆

*Faust (Part 1) by Goethe ★★☆☆

*”Trifles” by Susan Glaspell ★★★☆

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson ★½☆

*Hedda Gabler by Henrik Ibsen ★★★☆

Favorite of the Month

Tie between Station Eleven and Jane Eyre. These are definitely books that I see myself coming back to! Also after reading Charlotte and Emily, I’m super curious about Anne’s writing… She’s not as well regarded but I kind of want to read from all three sisters now.

Blogging

Wow, I managed to post consistently throughout the whole month. Who thought that could happen?

Tome Topple TBR

Top Ten Books I Read in 2016

Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

What I’ve Been Reading: Least Favorites Edition

Book Review: Station Eleven

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

Book Review: The Sky is Everywhere

Series Review: Shades of Magic

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

Waiting on Wednesday: The Pearl Thief

Writing

Remember when I said I wanted to go easy on myself? Well, like a day after that I decided to do CampNaNo…. I did start by giving myself a goal of only 15k words for the month… I met that on the fifth day. I raised it to 20k and forgot to change it after I met that one too. The second act of my WIP just clicked, what can I say? On the last few days I decided to try and shoot for the 50k… and proceeded not to write. I ended up with 46781 words so I won’t complain.Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 13.16.00

So now onto what I wrote… The first few day I actually didn’t write the fourth installment for my “trash” series. I needed a bit of a break, so I actually started writing the backstory for one of the characters in my next (or next to next?) project. I had already done it for another character and ended up with 3k words, so I was expecting more or less the same. I ended up with 9k of just backstory…. yeah so these books are going to be huge.

Speaking of huge books… Part 4 of my trash saga is turning out huge. I am a few chapters from the end of act 2 and have 84k words already. And I had to add two chapters! I never ever ever do that because I’m such a planner and have very detailed outlines before I write the first word. But as I was writing, I realised I was neglecting a very important thread for chapters at time, so I had to improvise chapters… they kind of limp as they are, maybe a bit too focused on characters and foreshadowing with barely any action… I don’t know how I am going to fix that or if I’ll leave them as they are as a sort of “breather” sections.

The other thing is that this book is like the bleakest I’ve written. Like after foolishly introducing too many characters, I kill half the cast at the end of act 2. Part 3 is more graphic and violent, but wow there is so much death and despair and it’s only going to get worse.

If I keep writing at this pace, I will finish my book and by consequence the whole series this month (I probably won’t because of finals). It’s been eighteen months of my life in this series. I never thought that I would seriously stick with this and get as far as I’ve gotten. It’s so surreal and wonderful and bittersweet.

Music

Lord Huron’s Strange Trails — I tried listening to this earlier this year when I stumbled upon Meet Me in the Woods, but the only song that clicked with me was Love Like Ghosts. Why? I didn’t listen it in order. This month after a friend got obsessed with “The Night We Met” I decided to give it another try and wow does it change when you listen in order…

Reading Music

Geidi Primes (album) by Grimes for Haunting of Hill House

Carrie & Lowell (album) by Sufjan Stevens for The Sky Is Everywhere

Takk… (album) by Sigur Ros for Station Eleven

Halfaxa (album) by Grimes for Jane Eyre

Currents (album) by Tame Impala for Days of Blood & Starlight

Writing Music

Andvari by Sigur Ros for the backstory of that character from my future project

The Yawning Grave by Lord Huron because things are getting dark

Let It Happen by Tame Impala for an action section

The Electric by Mt. Wolf for a certain dynamic and forgiveness

Total Eclipse of the Heart cover by Sleeping at Last for the darkest love story I’ve written

Leave a Reply

