Top Ten Books I Read in 2016

I’m late etc…

Good news is that hopefully people won’t as burned out with top ten list like I was by mid-January. I read a total of 71 books in the whole year, most of which I enjoyed. Though I have to say I didn’t branch out as much as I would have liked to, which is something I’m trying to change this year. Hopefully, there will be more variety on my next list.

Also bear in mind that this is totally subjective.

10. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Bardugo builds on the world of the Grisha deftly through moments that are utterly magical.

9. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

This book is beautiful, not only in its lyrical writing but also in its characters, view of grief and relationships.

8. Hamlet by William Shakespeare

I can’t say much that hasn’t already been said, but I never expected to get as engrossed in the characters and language.

7. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

As always, Wein is unflinching in her portrayal of war, but beyond it there is a touching tale of female friendship and resilience.

6. The Iliad by Homer

This poem feels both very old and very human, another one that took me by surprise.

5. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

A cast of lovable rogues, a tightly-plotted heist, and strong worldbuilding, what’s not to love?

4. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

This novel, both with its whimsy (magic tournament!) and its characters, solidified this series as one of my favorites ever.

3. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

The book I was awaiting/dreading the most was definitely flawed, but it also had the biggest emotional impact on me and its characters will stay with me for a long time.

2. Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett

I was dazzled and dazzled again by how much Beckett achieves with so little.

1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Every once in a while, you read a book that just changes you, as a reader, as a person… this book arrived in the perfect moment.

Leave a Reply

