Tome Topple TBR

Tome Topple is a readathon focused on tackling books over 500 hundred pages. Here is the Goodreads group if you want to check it out! This round starts on April 7th and ends on April 20th.

I have a confession to make. I’ve been really bad at reading larger books lately. Sometimes I’m just amazed that my fourteen-year-old self read A Song of Ice and Fire in its entirety without stopping (okay so I technically haven’t finished the last like 100 pages of ADwD but I almost did it). I just look a my mass paperbacks and find them so daunting. Last year, the largest book I read was Illuminae which is just shy of 600 pages and features a ton of illustrations so it doesn’t really count anyway. For someone who loves fantasy as much as I do, this is especially shameful.

To be fair, this year I’ve been better. I recently read A Court of Mist and Fury, A Conjuring of Light, and Days of Blood & Starlight, all of which would have qualified.

Because of how much trouble I had reading this past month, I won’t be putting too much pressure on myself. As long as I read two books, so more than a thousand pages, I’ll be happy.

These are the challenges:

1. Read more than 1 tome
2. Read a graphic novel
3. Read a tome that’s part of a series
4. Buddy read a tome (use goodreads and twitter to find buddies!)
5. Read an adult novel

My (very) tentative TBR is as follows

1021013618440186074

 

My edition of Jane Eyre is 532 pages long, The Name of the Wind is 662 pages and Dreams of Gods & Monsters is 613, which leaves me with a goal of 1807 pages. Ooof. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

