Series I Want to Finish This Year

I read a lot of YA. I read a lot of fantasy. That means I rarely read standalones. Add this to the fact that I cannot marathon too many works by the same author because I start getting worn down by the same writing style even if I’m loving them. I always hate when things end, even if it’s time I wish they could go on forever. So basically… I have a bunch of series half finished.

Last year I started twelve different ones. Out of those, I finished two. I have commitment issues when it comes to books, clearly.

This year I made a rule for myself. I won’t allow myself to start a new series until I finish one that I’ve already started. Guess what my first book of the year was… So I’m also making a list of sagas, trilogies and duologies that I absolutely need to finish this year.

redglove

Series: Curse Workers

Author: Holly Black

Books read: 2

Books to go: 1

Why I haven’t finished: Honestly I don’t know why I haven’t picked up the final book. I was really enjoying where this series was going and liked the characters. And then I just didn’t pick up the book in the summer. I guess I’m just waiting for the right moment.

 

20613470

Series: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Books read: 2

Books to go: 3 (plus novellas, and two novels that haven’t been released)

Why I haven’t finished: By the time I picked up the first book, everyone and their mother had already read this series and had very strong opinions about it. Getting spoiled was inevitable, even though I did my best to avoid spoilers. There is such a large amount of content in this series that I’m sometimes daunted.  I really do want to finish this before the final book is released in a year. But after all the wank I don’t really have much motivation to pick up the third book.

 

6101718

Series: The Magicians

Author: Lev Grossman

Books read: 2

Books to go: 1

Why I haven’t finished: Okay so I have a really good excuse for this one. I own the first two books in paperback and eyed the last one at my favorite bookstore. Then my bookstore closed for renovations. So yeah, when it reopens I’m buying that baby and finishing this.

 

1914973

Series: The Dublin Murder Squad

Author: Tana French

Books read: 4

Books to go: 2 (more may be released in the future)

Why I haven’t finished: I own the fifth book. But, like, I read the first two books in the summer of 2015 and I read the next two in the summer of 2016. Wouldn’t it be perfect if I read the two remaining books in the summer of 2017? This is probably the most ridiculous reason in this list but… it would be so fitting.

 

8490112

Series: Daughter of Smoke & Bone

Author: Laini Taylor

Books read: 1

Books to go: 2

Why I haven’t finished: This is the series for which I broke my rule in like the first day of the year. I can’t say I regret it. I loved the first book so much that I ordered the rest of the trilogy as soon as I returned from my holiday. Now that I have them… I just haven’t had the time. Bad excuse I know, but universtiy…

 

23299512Series: Monsters of Verity

Author: Victoria Schwab

Books read: 1

Books to go: 1

Why I haven’t finished: This one is easy! The last book will be released in the summer. I plan to pre-order it soon just like I did with This Savage Song and reading it as soon as it arrives. The fact that I’ve loved everything that I’ve read from this author certainly helps.

 

Total books to read: 10

Yay! That’s not impossible!

Leave a Reply

