September Recap

My Life

August was so hectic and full of shiny new things while September wasn’t. This month I sort of adjusted to what my life looks like now. College has lost its novelty. I have made a group of friends. I have pulled a few all-nighters.

It’s both comfortable and bit underwhelming. Although I really enjoy the content of my classes, I am getting a bit bored. My high school was pretty demanding, especially during senior year, but my program deliberately starts off easy to make the transition to college easier. I know it will get harder before I know but right now I don’t feel challenged.

Also I really miss my high school friends, something I won’t stop complaining about any time soon.

Reading

I fared only slightly better than last month in term of reading. Most of the reading I got done was for class and can’t be counted on Goodreads, so bearing that in mind here are the book I read.

 

Illuminae  by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff ★★★☆☆

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman  ★★★★☆ 

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas ★★★½☆

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen ★★★★½

Antigone by  Sophocles ★★★☆☆

 

Favorite of the Month

A Court of Thorns and Roses

16096824

I know this might come off as a surprise given my rating, but this was the first book that I have really gotten obsessed with in a while. I will explain my thoughts fully in a coming review.

Favorite Poems of the Month

I’m basically getting bombarded with poetry this semester. What is really great about one of my classes is that my professor tries to be as diverse as possible. We’ve read poetry from a variety of periods and authors.  So I’m just listing a few of my favorites.

No Second Troy” by W.B. Yeats

My Last Duchess” by Robert Browning

“Eurydice” and “Anne Hathaway” by Carol Ann Duffy

“Dover Beach” by Matthew Arnold

“Prayer for the Newly Damned” by Ocean Vuong

“Home”  by Warsan Shire

Blogging

Illuminae Review or That Trope I Really Hate

August Recap

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 books that should become TV shows

Bookish Bingo: Fall 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Crooked Kingdom

Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Fall TBR List

Book Review: Good Omens

Writing

I really really really wanted to finish this project before the end of September. I’m only two and half chapters from the end and I can’t wait to be done with this. I’m going to have to edit this a ton, I know. But I really need a break.

First person is not the style for me. I love writing ensambles so find it awfully restricting. I can’t wait to get back into 3rd person limited for my next few projects. Plus, I found myself really missing the characters from my “trash saga.”

I wrote around 20,000 words this month, which is down from August. I went several days without writing because I’ve been exhausted. I have to wake up really early everyday so staying up late to write (which is what I normally did) has become practically impossible. I really hope I figure out a way around this in October.

TV

You’re the Worst! I await every Thursday to watch it after school. I just love this show a lot. It’s like my comfort food.

I watched the twelfth season of Grey’s Anatomy in less of a week. If You’re the Worst is comfort food, then Grey’s Anatomy is that candy that reminds of your childhood that you eat purely out of nostalgia. I have lost count of how many time I’ve stopped watching this show only to watch it again. The writing is just… ugh. I have so many problems.

I also watched the sixth season of Modern Family. Enjoyable, though not as good as earlier seasons.

I also started rewatching Buffy the Vampire Slayer, my favorite TV show of all time. And some of the episodes of the first season are… well, very unsteady. I’m glad I got through them the first time because I’m not sure I would today, were I watching for the first time. I truly adore these characters though.

I can’t wait to start Luke Cage which came out yesterday!

Music

Life

So Bastille released a new album…

Lethargy by Bastille

Cheap Thrills by Sia

Sugar by Robin Schulz (I’m pretty sure Schulz has released the same song 6 time yet I love it every time)

Stand Up by In the Valley Below (I’m really falling in love with this band)

Writing

Drift by Daughter (Will I ever get tired of this band? No, I won’t)

Dove Season by In the Valley Below

The Visitor by Mountain Bird

One thought on “September Recap

  1. Oh, I love ACOTAR and Modern Family so much! My sister, mom, and I always get so excited to watch it every time there’s a new episode. It’s like the one show we like to watch together. I can’t wait to go to college though, and I hope it becomes more challenging for you soon. I hate when schoolwork is really easy and not challenging enough. But I guess it’s different for everyone. I hope you have an awesome October, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

