August Recap

My Life

I’m in college! That is something I still can’t quite wrap my head around to. I keep thinking that my old high school classes will start soon until I realise that’s not going to happen.

Only it’s not the classes I miss from my high school, but it’s my friends. We are a really tight group and it is just so weird that we ended up in four different universities, enrolled in massively different programs. While I complain about all the reading I have to get done, my best friend is swamped with all the short stories she has to write for her program, another one endures hundreds of math problems each week and the last one has to do practical work with children. It wasn’t really noticeable during the summer but I can finally see how are lives are going in really different directions. We’ve seen each other almost every week since school started, but I can’t get used to not having them with me everyday.

My classes are great. I was pleasantly surprised by all but one. The first semester at my university has a focus on classics and I’ve been having a blast. Maybe it’s my love for The Secret History but I love learning about everything related to ancient Greece. Also, I don’t know, but I really feel I made the right choice by going into this major.

Reading

I finished 4 books this month.

And it feels wrong to say so because I feel like I spent the whole month reading and reading.

To be fair, I did start a few books that I have not finished yet. Also I had to read some parts of the Bible for class and I’m not counting all the supplementary materials I’ve had to read…

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling (re-read on audiobook)  ★★★★☆ 

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas ★★★★¼

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley ★★☆☆☆

The Iliad by Homer ★★★★½

Unfinished books (note that there are DNF’s just book that I haven’t had time to finish): A Criminal Magic, Pride and Prejudice, Illuminae (I actually finished this on September 1st)

Favorite of the month

The Iliad

1376

Even though I had a bit of trouble getting into the writing style and language, I adored this book. Honestly some of it is thanks to my professor as I feel that if I had read this on my own I would have missed out on so many layers. It was the perfect book to start my college career with.

Tentative TBR for September

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

The Odyssey by Homer

Also finishing the aforementioned three books that I’ve already started.

Blogging

July Recap

Hamilton Book Tag

Writing

I did not progress as I had expected. This month I went two entire weeks without writing a single word. Part of it is because writing this particular story has not come easily for me and part because I was overwhelmed by the mere fact that now I am a college student for the first half of the month.

The thing about me is that I can’t really shut off the creative part of my brain. Ever since I was kid, I’ve always had elaborate stories going on in my head. I think that is part of while I was much more daunted by the typing words aspect than the coming up with plots and characters one back when I started writing. So all the time I wasn’t writing I started planning future projects and, oh boy, now I have the next three projects more or less outlined in my head. I got particularly excited about the last one, so I better get through the remaining two-and-a-half projects fast.

Two weeks ago I jumped back into my current project. It’s going better. I finished the second act and crossed 60,000 word mark, so everything is going as planned. This month I wrote a total of 29,790 words this month. I was expecting that number to be much smaller. Honestly, I’m surprised at how much a written given the little time I had. My pace definitely went down, as I wrote more or less the same on the last two weeks of July alone.

Hopefully I will have finished this draft by the end of September.

TV

I’ve watched so little TV this month. It’s embarrassing.

I have been re-watching the fourth season of Gilmore Girls, which shows Rory’s first year in college (appropriate given my situation). It is so weird to watch it now, I used to see Rory as so old and mature in the second half of the series because I was thirteen and now she’s like my age. Also I am amazed at how well the show handles the transition from high school to college. There are so many #relatable moments.

I’ve also been re-watching BoJack Horseman, which is a bit ridiculous because I watched it for the first time last month. I love how many clever, subtle gags are thrown in the background so it’s definitely worth the re-watch.

You’re the Worst is back! I love this show so much. I can’t wait to see what my self-destructive children are about to do.

Music

Life

First by Cold War Kids

Human by Of Monsters and Men

Dorian by Agnes Obel

Gravel to Tempo by Hayley Kiyoko

Fake it by Bastille (I just adore this band)

Writing

Venus Fly by Grimes –Great for action scenes. Grimes has inspired so much of writing.

Strangers (Acoustic Version) by Wave & Rome – This is such a heartbreaking song. It is perfect for the ending of my current project.

Fourth of July by Sufjan Stevens – Another heartbreaking song, though this one is not for the end but for the beginning of the third act. 

Riverside by Agnes Obel which is just perfect for that project that is in line after two others

Leave a Reply

