BookTube-A-Thon Update #1

Day 1

Pages read: 234

Books completed: 1

I waited until 12am to start reading Uprooted by Naomi Novik. Not that it was hard, my sleeping schedule is so messed up right now. I was only going to read the first chapter but I got hooked and had to keep going. In total, I got to page 54 out of about 450.

The rest of the day I read The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. Though I had a couple of plans, so I didn’t spend the whole day reading. It’s kind of a short book (180 pages on my edition) but it goes by so fast. I loved how conversational the voice is. I finished it around 8pm. Also I didn’t know that movie adaptation was directed by Francis Ford Coppola, so I’m probably going to watch it soon to complete that challenge.

I was pretty happy with how day one went!

 

Day 2

Pages read: 417

Books completed: 1

I also ended up reading Uprooted after midnight and kept reading until 2:30 because I just couldn’t stop. I got so sad when I realized I was going to be able to pick it up first thing in the morning because of the challenge. At the same time I’m really liking reading it in chunks instead of all at once. All day I was thinking about it.

Well, when I wasn’t thinking about the next book I read at least. I’ve been wanting to read Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein for two years now. And wow, it did not disappoint. In my TBR, I think I said it was kind of short? Well imagine my surprise when I realized it wasn’t 200 pages like a thought but 350. It was supposed to be one of my short books… I got so emotional reading this book though. Like from the start when you get too see the characters from Code Name Verity again I started crying. Then when you get to actual plot… I was a mess by the time I finished this at 11:50 pm. I couldn’t pick Uprooted again right then. Then I woke in the middle of the night and started thinking about the characters and tear came again. When I calm down a little more, I’m definitely going to be writing a review.

 

Overall

Challenges Completed:

Read a book that is older than you -> The Outsiders

Total pages read: 651

Total books completed: 2

 

Leave a Reply

