BookTube-A-Thon TBR

I watch a lot of BookTube, it’s one of the reasons why I decided to start this blog. However, I haven’t really participated in the community and with the BookTube-A-Thon coming up tomorrow (and wrapping up on the 24th), I realized this was my chance to become a more active member. I don’t make videos, so I’m just going to be doing the reading challenges and participating in the Twitter sprints. More like trying but whatever. Also because my TBR pile has tripled in the last two months, I’m only allowing myself to buy new one book. There other ones are already on my shelf.

Here’s the original video announcing the challenges for this week and here is one that explains what the Booktube-A-Thon is.

1. Read a book with yellow on the cover.

17167166

Also I’m kind of starting to like the covers

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads

So I had this one for over a month, thinking “that’s the next book I’ll read for sure.” I haven’t even moved it from my shelf since it arrived. So this is the perfect occasion to pick it up! I enjoyed Throne of Glass for what it was and I’ve heard from many sources that this one is better.                                                                                                                                                                       

2. Read a book only after sunset.

22544764

This one can replace CoM for the yellow entry

Uprooted by Naomi Novak

Goodreads

Again, I’ve been hearing wonders of this book from multiple sources. Besides I’m completely unspoiled! I only know there’s a girl and a dragon which would be enough to pique my interest even without the hype. This kind of fantasy is just asking to be read at night, isn’t it? Also I love this challenge because it’ll allow me to take a break from whatever I’m reading during the day.

3. Read a book you discovered through booktube.

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

Okay, so this one is kind of cheating because I heard of Throne of Glass before I started watching BookTube videos. All the hype about this particular book has been BookTube, so it kind of counts.

4. Read a book by one of your favourite authors.

10929432

I adore this cover

The Archived by Victoria Schwab

Goodreads

Honestly, I’m going to gradually read through all of Schwab’s bibliography while I wait for A Conjuring of Light. This is the book I don’t own already. I’m going to buy the ebook if/when I get to it.

5 Read a book that is older than you.

765418Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman

This is one of the books I’m kind of supposed to read for my first semester of university. I might as well include it here. Especially since a haven’t read a single title from the “required” reading all summer. I’m hoping the poetry will prove a welcome rest from all the fantasy I have on this list.

6 Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation.

3Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K .Rowling

Another breather book since it’s obviously a reread. For our recent trip to Orlando, one of my friends watched all the movies (she hadn’t watched like half of them, I’m still shocked) and we would text about them all day. Since then I have such a craving for Harry Potter, both the movies and the books. My last reread was like four years ago, so it’s about time. This one is the other one I’m reading in ebook form.

7 Read seven books.

Okay so here are the books I hope I’ll be able to read that I haven’t mentioned before:

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

I’ve been wanting to read this for two years and I keep putting it off because I know it’s going to be quite an intense read. I finally bought it last month so I’m hoping I’ll finally pick it up.

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

Another shorter book. I’ve curious about this since I heard of it so…

Order

I’ll start Uprooted on the first night, along with The Outsiders for that day. From there I’ll pick up something a bit longer like Crown of Midnight. Throughout the whole thing I’ll be reading Leaves of Grass at intervals. From there, I’ll pick what I consider what I consider the toughest read, Rose Under Fire, as I’m sure it’s going to upset me. Then I’ll move to Harry Potter which is short enough to read in one sitting. Finally I think I’ll pick up The Archived and maybe avoid buying a book this month in case I don’t make it to end.

I think the only change I might make to this TBR plan is to switch Crown of Midnight with Rose Under Fire, because I read through Throne of Glass at a glacial pace despite the fact I was enjoying it.

Are you participating? What book are planning on reading?

Leave a Reply

